Big things

20Feb07

The wisdom of SolomonToday was big. Some things that were tying me to my life in Georgia were suddenly removed. But first let me explain what has made today, of all days, significant.

Over the summer I worked for EFY and had an awesome experience. In October I met with President Weiler and was able to lay to rest some things that had been damning me for years. Those two events had a profound, if not life changing, “saving”, effect on me. I began to experience confidence not unlike what I experienced before going on a mission. From there I decided that life is too short to live in indecision and be sullen, or be angry for very long with others who have wronged you. The line from The Shawshank Redemption, “Either get busy living or get busy dieing”, seemed applicable.

After that I got serious about my graduate school applications. I began to put forth more effort at work, and for the first time in a long time began to really enjoy being a member of the Church (I like being Mormon again).

Strangely as all of this has happened I have felt less and less connected to people and institutions that were keeping me in Georgia. It was like God was giving me permission to finally, after so many years, to follow my dreams, which may or may not mean living in the southeast.

Just a few hours ago there were a couple of things that happened that have caused me to think about moving west, or at least moving somewhere else. The first is that Caroline and Linda, two people that I have worked with and developed a pretty close relationship with, have decided to end their careers working with persons with severe autism and move to the new mild classroom that will be opening in the fall. At least they are going to apply for a transfer, which I am confident they will get.

Rikki, the remaining member of the crew, who is also a dear friend, will be leaving to do her student teaching and wants to start her career with the public schools as a teacher next year. I think that she will do well. She has a genuine love and regard for the kids and I think that will go a long, long, way.

Because the job is so demanding, and because it is such a team effort, I am thinking very seriously about moving on.org myself. Something inside keeps telling me to call Brother Shaw to be observed in my early morning seminary teaching. Perhaps this would lead to a student teaching position with CES next year. Who knows? All I know is that almost daily I am prompted to do this.

So what does all this mean? In three weeks I will have heard back from all of the schools that I have applied to and received either the “yeah” or the “nay” from each of them. Once I have all my cards, I will then be able to play my hand. I will then decide whether to move west or not.

Right now I am pretty sure that I got accepted to BYU’s special education certification program. The Instructional Psychology thing could go either way. I will probably not hear from USU until May which is kind of frustrating but okay.

But had I not been “saved” earlier from depression, I do not think that I would be able to do all of this. All that I ask now is for the strength to make a decision and then follow it through to the end.

2 Responses to “Big things”

  1. It’s a shame that your pals are moving out of teaching autistic children. Burn out in the teaching profession is high but much higher in special ed.
    BEst wishes
    http://whitterer-autism.blogspot.com

  2. 2 FutureJared

    I assume that was the Clean Flicks version of “The Shawshank Redemption” that you were quoting… 🙂


Leave a Reply

